How do you compose the original tunes?

For the ones who participate in the Original Tunes competitions, or are composers,
how do you compose the tunes?
how much do you know about music theory?
how do you know to what chords use?
do you use some pattern of how the tune has to go (ej ABBA)?
what programs do you use?
and how do you dissect the tunes of others to learn from them?

I wouldn’t say I could give the best advice about this but I can share with you my process. I started playing guitar 5-6 years ago and like playing little bits of a bunch of songs. In that process I was able to figure out what sounded good such as chords which played well together. I looked up a few things as time went on to try to get a better grasp of how things worked. As for original compositions, I only started writing my own music about 1 year ago. Some of my projects turned out well where others not so great. My first program I used for computer music was something named guitar pro, I had a ton of fun trying to wrap my head around that program and ended up making a few cool projects. Time passed and I decided to look into other programs to try out. Secondly I tried something named soundtrap. In the free trial period I was able to make a project there which was pretty fun and easy to use. Thirdly, I bought a copy of fruity loops studio. Or fl studio. So far I have only made 2 tracks. The first one not so great but I was fairly happy with my second attempt. If I was to choose any of those 3 I would use fl studio. It is kind of expensive but it has a lot of options. It is also in my opinion pretty complex however there are many tutorials for it. I do believe all those programs come with a trial version of you wanted to check them out. As for my process of writing the music, I find myself humming a song in my mind sometimes which I generally composes into a song. I find sometimes I forget some of the things I’m humming so I recently decided to record my humming so I wouldn’t forget some of